Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Please Help - Backups fail intermittently due to labeling

Posted by darkbeatz 
October 11, 2010 02:50AM
Hi There,

I am not a power user or Arcserve by any means. A client of ours is running version 12 and GFS is in place. Basically the backups would be running fine for a few days and then suddenly it would fail on any given day because the tape it was expecting on that tape (say Thursday) was labeled differently to what the software was expecting even though physically the Thursday tape was inserted.

I find myself having to re-format the tape so its blank media to get it to backup.

This could be something basic Im not sure. I have no experience with this product so be as basic as you want to be with questions.

Many thanks
October 11, 2010 02:59AM
I meant to post this error code from the log

*******************[MESSAGES OF MASTER JOB]*******************CA ARCserve Backup -- Backup[SubJob]Totals For................... Master JobJob No....................... 2Job ID....................... 250Total Session(s)............. 0Total Skip(s)................ 0Total Size (Disk)............ 0 KBTotal Size (Media)........... 0 KBElapsed Time................. 0sAverage Throughput........... 0 KB/minTotal Error(s)/Warning(s).... 1/1The following media can be used in device group HPDLT for next job on date 10/08/10:1. W-DAILY1-FRI- 6/11/10 [S/N] DAILY1_WLY2. W-DAILY1-FRI- 7/16/10 [S/N] DAILY1_WLY3. W-DAILY1-FRI- 7/23/10 [S/N] DAILY1_WLY4. <BLANK>Backup Operation Failed.[ERRORS & WARNINGS]08/10/2010 00:00:24 W5982 Mount media request in Group HPDLT timeout.08/10/2010 00:00:24 E3834 Unable to find any suitable media that can be used in this job.
October 11, 2010 08:41AM
available tape names to be used for the job don't match the tape name you are mentioning.
You mention a tape name Thursday, and that would be normal for a Rotation job.
However the log entry mentions names like W-DAILY1-FRI- 6/11/10, which are typical of a GFS job.