Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Long time listener, first time caller...

Posted by Mark440 
September 08, 2007 07:47AM
I've been using BEX for several years now. I would venture the most daunting task is understanding all of its capabilities. We had a lot of misery when we first installed - but that misery was primarily born out of ignorance. We skipped the training - we were all IT professionals you know - and then depended on the backups to save our butts. R-i-g-h-t!

Now we are at the crossroads of needing higher performance. We are considering implementing a disk solution but the debate takes two steps forward....and then a couple of steps back.

Also, the continuing role of tape is another step towards insanity. Some say if you have disk, you only need one copy to tape. Others say regardless of disk, you still should maintain two sets of tapes. And then others suggest thinking twice about the disk in the first place.

Add to it that most IT directors know only one word: cheap The other word they know is: cheap

Chosing hardware is every bit as daunting. The vendor tweaks some benign aspect - and suddenly that tweak is the claim to fame.

I am very interested in improving our performance to meet recovery issues, as well as shrinking the backup window. That said.....I'm all ears!
September 08, 2007 04:24PM
Mark,

One thing is to get with Syncsort Tech Support and ask them to help you performance tune BackEx. It can be tuned and performance will be better overall. But due to every aspect of the software, one setting change can affect another in a positive or negative manner. It will take a few hours to perf tune it, but Syncsort has always been great with helping us perf tune and resolve issues. Their support is 2nd to none when it comes to critical issues with backups. :D
I know, we also support Legato and Netbackup and getting a return call from either of those on a critical call is a pure miracle. :(
September 08, 2007 06:39PM