How do I clear the client list in the NetBackup Windows client?

From Backup Central


If you use a centralized system to perform restores for all clients, eventually the client list in Source and Destination tabs for the machine lists becomes very large. Here is a method used to clear the client list and reset it. Be aware that this method involved editing the registry. Don't do this if you are not comfortable with that.

1) With a registry editor (regedit, reged32) go to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veritas\NetBackup\CurrentVersion\Config and find the "Clients" key.

2) Edit the Clients key so it contains only the client you wish to have in the list by default. The easiest way to do this is to add the client to the client list, then remove everything except that client with the registry editor. Double null terminate the key.

3) Export the registry branch and with a text editor, remove all the keys except the Clients key.

This file can now be used to 'reset' the client list by importing it into the registry. It can be automated using AT if desired as well.